Surfacing After Silence

Life. After.

Yoga and Self Care and the Evil Fall


Fall is upon us.  I think where I live, the gods just pick a day and say, “Now there will be no more sunshine in the mornings” since there doesn’t seem to be a slow transition between summer and fall.  One day I was getting up at 6am and it was sunny outside; the next day, I hit my alarm at 6am and groaned at the darkness outside my window.  If I have to endure the fall, at least let me transition smoothly.

I have started my fall routines.  I set aside 30 minutes in the morning to sit in front of my sun lamp.  My night time meds have been adjusted.  I make sure I don’t avoid meditation, one of the things I have previously avoided in the fall only to my detriment.  This fall I am setting an intention to make time for self care each day.

One of the ways I make time for self care is to make time for yoga (in DBT lingo: STRONG).  Yoga helps me in several ways.  It keeps me active, and as the depression worsens, I tend to stop physical activity.  Yoga doesn’t prevent the depression, but it does help me feel better about myself.  I feel like I have accomplished something when I do yoga.  Yoga also raises my endorphins, which can temporarily help me feel a little less blue, and yoga calms my mind.  A little.  And at this point in the year, I’ll take whatever calming I can get.

But I can also run into trouble with yoga if it becomes just another thing I am making myself do.  It loses its benefits that way and becomes a chore, something I begin to dread.  My therapist likes to remind me of the concept of flexibility.  I do not have to do yoga every single day for one hour every session.  Some days I can do thirty minutes, or forty minutes, or ten.  Some days, I can even not do any at all.

My friend recently posted an entry in her blog which helped remind me that yoga is more than a strict, physical discipline.  She talked to some of her yogi friends and founds ways they remembered to treat themselves (DBT lingo: Self-Soothe).  I already have a favorite yoga rug and my props, but I was drawn to the “smelly things” section.  I think I’ll try some of that body powder when my next paycheck comes along.  Even if I’m not going out into the world after a yoga session, not smelling like sweat sounds really nice.

I have no idea what this fall will bring.  I can only go off my past years for hints of what will come.  But I can do my best to make good choices in the self-care department.  I can set aside time for yoga (most days).  I can brew a cup of tea before I start grading a pile of papers.  I can soak in the bathtub using homemade bath salts that smell like jasmine.  I can set aside time for knitting and reading and going out with friends.  And yes, sometimes I will give in and curl up on my bed, but I do not have to get down on myself for doing that.  Instead, I can see it as a time to feel the softness of the blankets and hear the purr of my cats and breathe the fresh air coming in the window.

September 22, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. toryburch 店舗

    Comment by 楽天 トリーバーチ | October 14, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

