Surfacing After Silence

Life. After.

Same old thoughts enter new territory


***Warning:  I openly discuss gaining and losing weight, but no specific numbers are mentioned.***

This entry may be a bit scattered.  I wasn’t going to write it at all because it’s not in line with my general discourse, but I think more people need to talk about this because I know I’m not the only one in this place.  But admitting your unhappy with your body, that at times you even hate your body, goes against all the pro-recovery talk. 

And I am very much pro-recovery.  Having certain thoughts doesn’t cancel that out.  They may be contradictory, but I am learning the brain has the power to hold two contradictory thoughts at the same time.  The DBT “motto” is a good example:  You are doing the best you can.  You need to do better.  I used to get so pissed off when I heard that.  Now I understand it, and even remind myself of it from time to time.

SO.  I had a cardiology appointment yesterday, and I got weighed.  To be honest, I was hoping the number would have gone down.  Or at least stayed the same.  I did not expect it to go up a significant amount.  I honestly felt like crying right then and there.  But I didn’t.  And I managed to put my thoughts aside for the 2 1/2 hour drive home that included stop and go traffic through St Louis.  But when I got home, I admit I wasn’t as calm.  I was a bit panicky.  My general thought process at this point in time:

 I’ve been doing things to help me lose weight.   I wasn’t supposed to gain weight.  What the hell am I supposed to do?  I’m actually edging toward the overweight category for my size and frame.  I can’t let this happen.  This was never supposed to be like this.  I can’t exercise any more.  I thought I had cut out the right foods and added in fruits instead.  I know what would be easy to do but I really don’t want to go there.  ARGH!  I don’t know what to do!

Honestly, my way of coping was to cry, take an extra klonopin, go to bed early, and wake up and make bread from scratch.  There’s something calming about kneading dough. 

So why am I writing this?  My body is a wonderful thing.  It is strong and allows me to do things I couldn’t ever do when I was sick.  I’m healthy, which I never was when I was sick.  And, most of the time, I am much happier. 

I had two options for dealing with thoughts like this in the past.  The first was to deny them.  Numb them out–through starvation or self-harm or over-exercise.  The second was to purposely obsess about them and take extreme actions to “remedy” the problem. 

I am looking for the middle ground here.  I think it’s important to acknowledge when we are uncomfortable in our skin instead of just repeating some glib quote about how everything is wonderful now that I’m recovered.  yeah, it sounds good, but it’s not realistic.  These thoughts are here, and covering them up with some affirmation is not going to help them.  And I know beyond any little ounce of doubt that acting on these thoughts will only make them worse (Hurray! for progress!) 

We need a place to address fears such as the ones I’m having, to admit them, to allow them to be and to discuss ways of dealing with them in a healthy, realistic fashion.  Ignoring them isn’t healthy.  Acting rashly is equally unhealthy.  Maybe by acknowledging these thoughts, I can find the middle path.

August 16, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

