Surfacing After Silence

Life. After.

We Are What We See


“Each of us literally chooses, by his way of attending to things, what sort of universe he shall appear to himself to inhabit.” ~William James

I came across this quote today, right after reading about the idea of destiny and fate, which have never sat well with me.  I believe that we have the ability to choose what our lives will be and how we live them.  I am now recovered, living freely, because of choices I made, decisions I labored over, and dreams I had the courage to believe in.

Are you ready to choose recovery?  Are you ready to choose freedom?  There are so many small choices you can make to help that sometimes seemingly impossible decision along.  One of the decisions you can make is to surround yourself with positive people and things and, yes, images.  I see so many Facebook albums of images and quotes picked up from various places online.  The albums are created with the intention of empathy, of putting into words and pictures what the collector feels.  But so often, these images are ones of thin and bony bodies, and I’ve even seen images of arms or torsos covered with scars.

These albums do voice the internal thoughts and feelings, but they also serve to keep you trapped in the very thing you wish to escape.  So many of these albums fall into the category of “thinspiration” and, instead of encouraging change, encourage illness.  The quotes aren’t that much better.  And I see these images pop up on my news feed and wonder, “How many people are being triggered by this right now?”

Why choose these images?  Why not choose inspiring quotes and beautiful images of things that bring you joy and happiness and hope?  They’re out there; I see those albums pop up on my news feed as well.  It all depends on what keywords you type into the search engine.

I am not encouraging denying your feelings.  Write them down; get them out of you.  But do take care with what you surround yourself with.  Choose hope.  Read those quotes and sayings until they sink in.  Read them enough and you will start to believe in them.  Let them take hold of you.  Choose your universe; create a world of beauty and walk in it daily.

July 22, 2011 - Posted by | Body Image, Eating Disorders, recovery, self harm | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Great post (as usual!)

    I see people adding friends whose profile pictures show how sick they are, and it’s so disheartening. They are choosing to surround themselves with triggering people, stuck in their illness and refusing to move forward. I’m not implying that people should ONLY add friends who are either fully recovered, or 100% in recovery – it’s okay to be ambivalent and struggling, it can be helpful to have friends who are in a similar place, and it can also be extremely gratifying to help other friends (though we have to watch out – as you’ve posted before – to protect ourselves and our own recovery). But continually adding negative friends, focusing on more and more images/messages flaunting illness, creates an identity and world that is built around the ED. I’ve been there before, and it was difficult to pull myself out of it, but it was a really important step.

    “Choose your universe; create a world of beauty and walk in it daily.”

    I love this.

    Comment by anon | July 23, 2011 | Reply

  2. I really enjoy reading your posts! This is a great site for women with eating disorders:) I’m 18 and I’ve been bulimic, depressed, & am getting help for self-injury. It’s really hard getting out of that mindset of “having to be thinner.” I’ll for sure be reading all your posts!

    Comment by elle | July 25, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

