Surfacing After Silence

Life. After.

Strip Me


 

I want to thank my friend, Michelle, for pointing me toward this video/song.

How many people have playlists or mix CDs or the like full of songs that match their depressed moods?  I know I do.  I feel more “called” to create a playlist of mood-matching music when I’m in the dumps.  Generally the only time I have made upbeat or inspiring playlists have been when I’m making them for someone else, to encourage them.  I rarely, if ever, have applied that same “skill” to myself.  Why spend time creating a playlist that would inspire me or cheer me up?  (I don’t have an answer for that.  I’m not sure that I’ve ever even asked the question, since the idea hasn’t ever crossed my mind in the first place.)

This is a song that should be on a playlist titled, “I KICK ASS AND NO ONE CAN TAKE THAT AWAY FROM ME.”

I know a lot of friends who make things for other people, be it cards or crafts or pictures or playlists, but don’t expend that same energy on themselves.  Why is that?  Why are we so willing to use our time to help someone else but balk at using our time to help ourselves?

So this is a challenge for all my readers–and I am including myself in this as well: take some time to make something to inspire you.  If you make playlists for other people, make a playlist for yourself.  If you make cards for people, make one for yourself and write in it all that you need to hear.

Or just listen to this song and take it to heart.  You are one in a million.  You are unique and special and no one can ever replace you.  Listen to this song, dance to this song, and believe this song.  Let this song be your song.

 

If you have other inspiring songs, put them in a comment.  Let’s come up with one hell of a self-affirming, inspiring playlist.

January 22, 2011 - Posted by | Body Image, depression, Eating Disorders | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Remember that question I asked on Formspring? “Do you have a certain song for each of your emotions?” I have thought of the things you talked about in this post before, and honestly, I think we should get RID of the “depressed” playlists, because there’s NO point in perpetuating it. I have a playlist that is pumpin’ just for that, instead.

    On that note: as you requested, here is Jonny Diaz’s music video for his song “More Beautiful You”- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vXSkd8apbWM

    Comment by Lily | January 22, 2011 | Reply

    • actually, i think there can be some good in those depressed playlists. they can be cathartic and a way of expressing yourself. I think problems start to arise when that’s ALL you listen to. balance is key.

      Comment by surfacingaftersilence | January 22, 2011 | Reply

      • I respectfully disagree, but did you check out that vid? 🙂

        Comment by Lily | January 23, 2011

      • That balance reminds me of Billy Joel’s song “All About Soul”, where one line is:
        “It’s all about soul
        It’s all about joy that comes out of sorrow”

        It may not be directly related to your post, but I love this song b/c of all the emotions that it has – joy and sorrow of course, anger, emotional pain in general, faith (although not an emotion per se)

        Comment by anon | January 23, 2011

    • This may not have lyrics, but I love Rachmaninoff’s 2nd mvt of his 2nd piano concerto. It’s just incredible, and inspires me because it really makes me want to FEEL.

      Comment by anon | January 23, 2011 | Reply

  2. I CAN’T BELIEVE THAT 40 people disliked this video!!!

    I LOVE IT!!!
    thanks for sharing!!!
    xoxo
    -Lisa

    Comment by Lisa | January 22, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

