Surfacing After Silence

Life. After.

An Upbeat Mix


On facebook, I either like a page  whose title is something along the lines of “listening to music that matches your exact mood at that time.”  I do that a lot.  I have playlists on my iPod for various moods.  There’s a playlist of songs for when I broke up with someone and their not exactly the most cheerful songs, but they have a bit of self-empowerment in them.  There’s my depression playlist (not really called that) and the songs in it are, well, depressing.  Music is a way to put words to how I am feeling when I can’t find the words myself.  It’s a form of release.
But listening to the depressing playlist over and over again has this tendency to increase my depression.  If I listen to that playlist too many times, I begin to sink into the music and feel it all the more strongly rather than releasing the emotions inside of me.  Then the music becomes UNtherapeutic.  So I also have a playlist of music that I can’t help but sing along to, usually quite loudly and off key.  And I can’t help but feel good when I sing along.  Sometimes the words don’t matter.  You’d think “We’re All Gonna Die Someday” would be on my depressing list, but it’s on my feel good list because it’s got a kick ass fiddle part and it’s just a fun song to sing along to.
So this is my playlist I call “An Upbeat Mix”  These are songs that help me through the bad times.  Not because they have anything to do with why I’m feeling down but because I can’t help but smile when singing them.
  1. Shine (acoustic version)/Anna Nalick
  2. Citizen of the Planet/Alanis Morissette
  3. Unbroken/Missy Higgins
  4. What Do You Hear in These Sounds?/Dar Williams
  5. Fidelity/Regina Spektor
  6. Follow/Brandi Carlile
  7. Come On, Come Out/A Fine Frenzy
  8. Saturdays/Holly Brook
  9. I Will Arrive/Melissa Ferrick
  10. Everybody/Ingrid Michaelson
  11. Breathe (2 AM)(Acoustic version)/Anna Nalick
  12. Last Hard Bible/Kasey Chambers
  13. Suddenly I See/KT Tunstall
  14. My Song/Brandi Carlile
  15. Never Give Up/Melissa Ferrick
  16. The Wrong Girl/Missy Higgins
  17. If I Know You/Nerina Pallot
  18. Take Me Away/Sarah Kelly
  19. We’re All Gonna Die Someday/Kasey Chambers
  20. Blackbird/Sarah McLachlan
  21. Don’t Let Them/Shelby Starner

What are some songs that help you through the rough times?  Do you find yourself matching your mood or trying to counteract it?

May 26, 2010 - Posted by | coping, Eating Disorders, feelings | , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. I love those Ferrick songs, but it’s pretty hysterical that she’d be on an “up” list. She has a number of my “not so sane today” songs.

    But one of my first pick-me-up songs was (don’t laugh) Paula Abdul’s “Alright Tonight.” Okay, you can laugh. But it was the early ’90s and that album was awesome.

    Comment by Halley | May 26, 2010 | Reply

    • How can I laugh about Paula Abdul. She’s from our time. I had her tapes. Yes, I did just write tapes.

      You have to admit that these Melissa Ferrick songs actually have an upbeat message. But yes, most of her stuff would be on my crazy day lists.

      Comment by surfacingaftersilence | June 30, 2010 | Reply

  2. I both try to match my mood and counteract it. Depends on the mood and how the mood is affecting life. There’s a playlist for when I need to get myself singing and moving, one for when I feel like total crap and need encouragement, one for when I’m fighting to let go of something, one for venting and one for strictly worship.
    It’s all Christian, ranging from classic worship to metal. When I need to just rock out, I listen to a local classic rock station. That gets a little depressing sometimes… simply because the music I listened to in my teens doesn’t belong on the CLASSIC station… *grumble*

    Comment by marisa | May 26, 2010 | Reply

  3. This post made me smile. 🙂 I am somewhat of a music whore, so I am constantly using music to both counteract and reinforce moods of mine. For as long as I can remember, music has always played an important role in my life. And you’re right. It’s not (always) about the lyrics. Sometimes there’s just that special something about a certain song that can lift you up. Here’s my list!

    1. Work by Jimmy Eat World
    2. I Woke Up In A Car by Something Corporate
    3. The Adventure by Angels and Airwaves
    4. Give Me Your Eyes by Brandon Heath
    5. Jamie by Dashboard Confessional
    6. Grand Theft Autumn by Fall Out Boy
    7. Handlebars by Flobots
    8. Happy Birthday by Flipsyde
    9. I Kissed A Girl by Katy Perry
    10. The Wanderer by Marc Broussard

    Comment by Panda | May 27, 2010 | Reply

  4. Right now I’m in a James Taylor kinda mood. Especially “You’ve Got a Friend”. I have so many CD’s that I have uploaded it’s not funny.

    Comment by Cathy | May 27, 2010 | Reply

  5. thank you for indulging my playlist voyeurism. i’m moderately obsessed with everyone else’s playlists. here are a couple of additions from mine:

    Bittersweet Symphony (the Verve)
    Uprising (Muse)
    Dig (Incubus)
    Higher Ground (Red Hot Chili Peppers)
    Three Little Birds (Bob Marley)

    Comment by michelle | May 31, 2010 | Reply

  6. hey whats your myspace page.

    Comment by how much should i weigh | June 20, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

