Surfacing After Silence

Life. After.

Recovery Books


"inchies

So I”m going to make a recovery book, inspired in part by the Recovery Book group on facebook and my friend Katie’s “inchies.”  My book will be a folding book the size of inchies with my own artwork in the form of colored pencils and watercolors and whatnot with some inspirational quotes.

So, my quest for you all is to shoot me some inspirational quotes, keeping in mind that I will not have a great deal of space to write them on.

I promise to show the finished result.

January 25, 2010 - Posted by | coping, Eating Disorders, recovery, therapy | , , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. My favorite all-time quote is made up of four simple words. Those words keep me going every day, the quote is stuck in random places around my house and in handbags, pants and jacket pockets…
    “If not now, when?”
    …I think you know who told me those wise words. That’s another reason why that quote means so much to me. ❤

    Comment by Kiersten | January 25, 2010 | Reply

    • Great quote – I love the whole rabbinic saying “If I am not for myself, who will be for me? And when I am for myself, what am ‘I’? And if not now, when?” (Hillel)

      Comment by Anonymous | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  2. Actually that’s a HUGE reason the quote means so much.
    I think making this book is a great idea. ❤ K

    Comment by Kiersten | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  3. fall down seven times, get up eight.
    that, and
    just do the next right thing.

    Comment by Michelle | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  4. hi. =) i’m a friend of hannah’s and she gave me your site a while back. you’re so encouraging, even when you’re struggling! i appreciate your genuineness. this isn’t easy, but you’re strong and you know what you need to do to take care of yourself. and i admire that.

    a couple of my favorite quotes:
    freedom isn’t about being able to have whatever we crave. freedom is going without whatever we crave and being fine with it.

    courage does not always roar. sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, “i will try again tomorrow.”

    Comment by rachel | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  5. here’s a few

    “the best way out is through”
    “Parts of recovery we can’t do alone and part no one can do for us.”
    “progress, not perfection”

    Comment by Shellly | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  6. *hugs* I’m happy that you are doing what you need to do for yourself.

    Here are some of my motivating quotes:

    “yes there are things that I’m still quite afraid of, but my courage is roaring like the sound of the sun.” –neko case

    “i just want another chance to live”–patty griffin

    “and somewhere beyond the bitter end is where i want to be”–patty griffin

    “lately it’s occurred to me that i’ve had enough of that, and lately i’ve been satisfied by simple things like breathing in and breathing out”–natalie merchant

    “anything worth anything takes more than a few days and a long, long night” –deb talan

    “we are made to bleed and scab and heal an bleed again and turn every scar into a joke…we are made to fight…” –ani difranco

    Comment by SK | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  7. This is my MOST FAVORITE recovery quote ever:

    “Courage does not always roar. Sometimes, it is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, “‘I will try again tomorrow’.” – Maryanne Radanbacher

    I also love:

    “What matters is this: you can look at a scar and see hurt or you can look at a scar and see healing. Try to understand.”
    – Sheri Reynolds

    Comment by Sayhealth | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  8. Ok, love, here are some of my favorites. They are probably, in some regards, reflective of what I needed to remember most when I was in the hospital and unsure of ever getting out. I hope they help guide you home, too.

    “No matter how incomplete or damaged our lives, we are surpassingly lucky to be alive.” AK Schulman

    “To die, it’s easy…but you have to struggle for life.” A. Spiegelman

    Comment by Neesha/Dustin | January 25, 2010 | Reply

  9. I’m glad some of my art work could inspire you :). A lot of things that I have now are affirmations, but one of my favorite quotes is,

    “If you think you can, you can;If you think you can’t, you’re right.”

    Or I’ve sometimes heard it as “Whether you think you can or you can’t, you’re right.”

    Comment by Katie D | January 26, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

