Surfacing After Silence

Life. After.

thin tastes like . . .


(photo found here)

 

Just my two cents on the whole Kate Moss bit.  Some people have crucified her since she’s a role model (cough cough) and said, “Nothing tastes and good as thin feels,” with the fear that this comment, from her, will spur more eating disorders.

Perhaps someone will hear these words from her mouth and go, “oh, so I can loose weight and it will be fun, or good for me.”  Whether or not this will trigger an eating disorder, in my opinion, is debatable.

On one hand, yes, the comment is obviously harmful.  And yes, vulnerable people will hear it.  And yes, it’s false in its very premise (you can’t taste anything if you don’t eat).

But I don’t see Kate Moss as a role model.  It’s not exactly as if her cocaine use and prior history with eating disorders have been kept secret.  People who already have an eating disorder use her pictures as thinspiration.  People who want to lose a large amount of weight already keep her figure in mind.  Sadly, she’s known for these things.

And it’s not like she’s the first person to say that.  I read one blog that said Oprah was the first person to use that phrase, but I’ve been hearing that phrase long before Oprah came along.  It’s one of the main thinspo quotes.  It’s found in pro-ana sites, facebook groups, and regular old health and fitness magazines such as Shape and Fitness.

Eating disorders are already on the rise.  I honestly don’t think her comment will affect this trend.

Do I think she should have said it?  No.  I do think public figures should think a little before the speak.  In an ideal world they would have some privacy, or the editor would realize that’s not the best thing to keep in, but we don’t live in an ideal world.  Actresses and models and singers and public figures are all going to say things and do things that contradict what is healthy.

I don’t have stats, but I don’t think people thought doing cocaine was okay when that whole story came out regarding Kate Moss.  I don’t think a significant number of people will change from “eating disorders are bad” to “maybe I should have one” just because she said this one comment.  I think the people who are most vulnerable to the effects of this comments are those individuals who are new to recovery or who are ambivalent about making the first steps towards recovery.

November 23, 2009 - Posted by | Eating Disorders | , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I agree with your comments on the whole kate Moss situation. Thank you for posting this.

    Comment by Diana | November 23, 2009 | Reply

  2. I second this.

    Comment by gainingandgrowing | November 23, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

