Surfacing After Silence

Life. After.

Comfortable Imperfection


 

IMG_4489

My first sewn item of clothing

 

So here it is.  The first product of my sewing skills.  I’ve made a couple of piecing-together-squares blankets but I hadn’t ever ventured into the depths of clothing, regardless of the the four or five books I had in my apartment.  But with the sharp increase of free time brought on by the cardiac stuff, I picked up a new hobby and opened up the pattern book.

The picture in the book looks pretty much like this one.  I was so happy when I sewed the shoulder sleeves and collar and slipped it over my head and realized that once I sewed the side seams, I would have not only a dress–but a dress that fit.  That I made.  That I could be proud of.

There are mistakes.  The edge stitching does not match up on the armholes on one sleeve.  But unless you’re looking at my armpit, you can’t tell.  There’s a bit of interfacing visible at the seam, but unless you’re checking for a tag, you can’t see it.  I could probably have trimmed the excess fabric on seams better.  Or figured out how to use bias tape (which I had forgotten to buy anyway).  And my improved reverse applique patch of a bird, well, the head’s a little funky.

But it’s still pretty damn cool if I do say so myself.  All yesterday evening, after finishing the dress, I kept looking at it and thinking, “I made that.  I can’t believe that I actually made that.” It made me quite happy, mistakes and all.

In my recent entries, there’s been a lot of debating–should we name eating disorders, should we wear supplement t-shirts, should we do this or that . .  .  The only thing I can offer through this blog is my experience.  I can tell you what I did and what worked and what didn’t work for me.  These things will not hold true for everyone.  Even though I may start a sentence with “I truly believe that” doesn’t make it true for everyone.  If something totally contradictory to what I write about works for you, do it.

There is no right way to recover.  There are no perfect journeys.  We all will  make mistakes an stumble from time to time.  But if you get up and keep heading in the same direction, you have a good shot at succeeding.

 

November 10, 2009 - Posted by | Eating Disorders, recovery | , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. This looks awesome!!! Nice work!

    Comment by Neesha/Dustin | November 10, 2009 | Reply

  2. Wow! I am so freaking impressed!

    Comment by Katie | November 10, 2009 | Reply

  3. Lex- It’s totally cute. Nice job!!!! 😀

    Comment by Crystal | November 10, 2009 | Reply

  4. well done! looks terrific on you. 😀

    Comment by Marisa | November 10, 2009 | Reply

  5. I love it!

    Comment by Kristin | November 10, 2009 | Reply

  6. love the dress, love the message of this post!

    Comment by Emily | November 10, 2009 | Reply

  7. I adore it it is SO ALEXIS 🙂

    Comment by lisa | November 11, 2009 | Reply

  8. Lexi, i love the dress, you did a great job. and i’d like to say you’re amazing!!

    Comment by Mandy | November 20, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

