Surfacing After Silence

Life. After.

hobbies galore


So here’s another poll.  A discussion was started a few entries ago about needing to find things to do besides eating disorder behaviors or other unhealthy coping skills, and how a lot think we can wait until we’re recovered, or nearly recovered, to find these things.  I’m a firm believer in trying out new things even if you’re in Stage 2 of the Stages of Change.  It’s never to early to learn new things–you may find something you never imagined you liked or you may discover you like something you had given up long ago because of the eating disorder.

Learning to Love You More was an excellent site of sometimes wacky projects you completed and then sent into the site and they would post the results.  The emphasis wasn’t about body image or eating disorders or mental illness, it was about stepping outside your world and perhaps creating something artistic in the process.  I’ve done a few of the things on the site.  It is no longer current (as of May 1, 2009), but it will remain up as an archive.  Check it out.

If you have favorite sites for crafts and hobbies, please share them.

Knitty.com is a great site for instructions and free patterns.  There are a ton of free knit and crochet patterns on the web if you search for them.  There are hundreds of facebook groups about all of these healthy, non-eating disordered activities.  If you look at my group listing you’ll see a variety of subjects from knitting to tea to collecting fiesta ware.  I change my groups periodically just for fun.  There should be a group for that.

If you checked “other” then please leave a comment and say what other hobbies help you.  *please do not list any physical activities, no matter how “easy.”  Some people here may be on exercise restriction, so let’s encourage as many other hobbies as possible. I know they exist.*

(And if anyone can figure out how to let people have multiple answers, please let me know.)

November 9, 2009 - Posted by | 1, coping, Eating Disorders, recovery | , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. i picked “other” because my answer is “all of the above”

    Comment by paxton | November 9, 2009 | Reply

  2. gooood morning all!

    okkkkkkkkkkkkkeeeeeeee i AM SO INTO THIS ONE!
    I was thinking a lot about this last night b/c all weekend Alexis and I chatted away on hobbies collecting things knitting ready music

    this is what keeps us keepn on huh? Its all about coping in HEALTHY ways!!

    Speaking of this I am off to theraphy this AM but will jump all over this topic later today!

    OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    Comment by Lisa | November 9, 2009 | Reply

  3. I can relate to this post in so many ways…but the biggest thing is about how long I had my eating disorder for and the time that I did, I felt the same, I didn’t care that I had an ED or if I really lived, it wasn’t until that part of me changed that I could focus on recovery. Now that I care about living and want something for my life, recovery is going good and I don’t want to have an eating disorder anymore.

    Comment by cheryl | November 9, 2009 | Reply

    • Cheryl thats wonderful! recovery IS good and it frees up all of this head time- plus!- we actually HAVE ENERGY!! to do fun things! I used to be so tired and weak I could barely function let alone knit, cook, read, do yoga, PINE AWAY FOR THE LATEST IN FIESTA WEAR! :), bake bread from scracth – all of these wonderful fun things would NOT have come easily to me if at all before. I was simply too tired and too focused on the dreaded ED –
      we have alot of time to make up for huh!

      Comment by lisa | November 9, 2009 | Reply

  4. I put listening to music because that’s predominately what I do whenever possible. But reading, and knitting- when school work is light enough- are also on my list.
    Sewing is too stressful due to the pinning of the patterns… haha. but it’s nice if I’m not pressed for time.

    Comment by Andi | November 9, 2009 | Reply

  5. I voted other: Board games, especially Scrabble. When I left treatment, I played it ever single day. I was lucky enough to have someone to play with me, but you can play it on the computer too.

    Comment by Kristin | November 9, 2009 | Reply

  6. I rememeber you playing lots of games Kristin you were VERY good at them too!! I wish I had some one to play with- though Im awfully good at CandyLand and Chutes and Ladders:)

    I have seen scrabble on the computer and it looks cool!

    Comment by lisa | November 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

