Surfacing After Silence

Life. After.

Fiestaware without a real house?


Fiesta

When I was still in undergraduate at Moravian College, and because I was involved in the Christian Fellowship Group on campus, I had several friends who were at the Moravian Theological Seminary.  I bought a guitar from one of them.  I sublet an apartment for a summer from another.  I was a counselor at Camp Hope with some of them.  I learned how to make popcorn on the stove from one of them.  

I remember that I once told a friend from the Seminary, “When I’m grown up, I’m going to have my own teapot.”  I’m not really sure why I thought I had be “grown up” to have a teapot, and since I was going into my junior year of college, I’m not sure at what point I would have said, “Okay, I’m grown up now.  Bring on the teapots!”  My friend pretty much felt that if I wanted a teapot, I should enjoy having a teapot, regardless of age.  Why should I have to wait for something so inconsequential?  And for my birthday that year, she bought me my first teapot.  

I now own four teapots: two I inherited from my great-grandmother along with several old tea-cups, and two Fiestaware teapots.  

Fiestaware was another thing I had this rule about.  I said, “Once I get married and have a real house, I’ll get real dinnerware.”  I’d been living in my own apartment for a few years by then, was working, and was an official adult.  My first Fiestaware plate setting was Periwinkle Blue, given to me by a friend who had an extra place setting in that color.  She gave this to me right before I moved to DC to begin my master’s program.  For awhile, that was my lone fiesta ware setting.  Eventually, one by one, I added a new color.  And now I have serving dishes, canisters, a cream and sugar set, a sugar packet caddy, teapots, tea cups, salt and pepper shakers (two different styles) and a spoon rest.  

I am not married, nor do I have a real house.  

These rules I made for myself of only being able to do certain things “if and when I do/have accomplished. . .” were pointless and only kept me from enjoying things.  I still make rules:  If I don’t finish this reading by this time, I can’t knit today.  And while, as a PhD student, some of this is necessary, I’ve learned in the past year that I need to say, “I’m going to knit today (or do something that equals downtime) regardless of the amount of work I have to do or I am going to go insane.”  

Rules.  Control.  Order.  Everything nice and neat and tidy.  It all sounds ideal, but the world rarely fits into any of those categories.  So I’m in the process of learning not to make them.

August 15, 2009 - Posted by | Eating Disorders, identity | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Everybody needs Fiestaware. 😀 😀 😀 😀

    Comment by K | August 15, 2009 | Reply

  2. Just found your blog, and, love love love this post.

    Comment by Tiger | November 23, 2009 | Reply

  3. So, as a first timer here I wanted to say that your site is completely superb! We’re interested in starting a volunteer community initiative in this niche. The tips on your blog were extremely helpful to us, as it gave us something to work on. Thanks.

    Comment by fiestaware | June 21, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

